//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

documents

So I’m kind of a documentation freak. I always, always transform information into a visual format when I am struggling to understand it, when I am trying to structure and assert control over it, and when I am trying to explain it to others. From lists for the need-to-dos and groceries, to the notes I write prepping for and then processing doctor’s appointments, to the checklist for how to operate our generator when the hubby is not home, to the entries on this blog, I am constantly forming my visuals.

When Madeline was diagnosed with T1D and I was inundated with information, I set about making a variety of visuals to help me and everyone else who would be taking care of her. At first, I made binders for her caregivers full of if-then documents that could be consulted when trying to tackle diabetes management. You should have seen the paperwork I generated when I sat down with her school team to develop her first 504 plan! Eventually, I graduated to flow charts: a beautiful marriage of needed information with a simplified format. Here’s what I was (and am) trying to accomplish: should something happen to me, or should I not be able to be reached when needed, a caregiver could pick up these documents and have a decent clue about how to manage diabetes. They don’t supersede the value of experience, but they provide a roadmap. Every summer, I review them and update them to reflect the most current strategies we are using to assist Madeline.

If these documents help me, maybe they will help you too. I thought I would share a few, and I hope someone finds them to be a helpful resource. Feel free to download the files and make them your own.

Flowchart explaining procedures for handling hypoglycemia:  hypoglycemia flow chart July 2012

Flowchart explaining procedures for handling hyperglycemia: hyperglycemia flow chart July 2012

List for changing an infusion set: Infusion Set and Cartridge Change

Flowchart for handling sick days: sick day flowchart

Flowchart for carb bolusing: carb bolusing flowchart August 2012

Flowchart for correction bolusing: correction bolusing flow chart August 2012

Flowchart for testing BG: testing BG flowchart July 2012

Flowchart for calculating bolus “by hand”: calculating insulin by hand flowchart August 2012

Flowchart for administering insulin using an insulin pen: administering insulin pen flowchart August 2012

The daily log we use between home, childcare and school: daily log

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “documents

  1. This is such a gift! Everyone’s going to print these. You are brilliant.

    Posted by Katy | 03/02/2013, 9:50 pm
  2. wow. these are great!

    immediate benefit: made me feel 85% less worried about my life

    >________________________________ > From: insulin resilience >To: katykillilea@yahoo.com >Sent: Saturday, March 2, 2013 7:09 PM >Subject: [New post] documents > > > WordPress.com >Heather Garcia Queen posted: “So I’m kind of a documentation freak. I always, always transform information into a visual format when I am struggling to understand it, when I am trying to structure and assert control over it, and when I am trying to explain it to others. From lists for” >

    Posted by Katy | 03/02/2013, 9:58 pm
  3. Just wanted to drop a quick note to let you know that I shared your blog post on my blog at: http://chasinglows.wordpress.com/info-for-school/

    Posted by type1dmom | 08/06/2013, 10:34 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Good Things VII | Bigfoot Child Have Diabetes - 03/03/2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

