//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

3rd annual diabetes blog week: May 15

Tuesday’s topic for the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week is One Great Thing. What is one great thing that I do as part of managing Madeline’s diabetes?

Thinking about this post, a variety of xylophone-toned, sparkly-smiled 50’s-inspired statements come to mind:

Thanks to Diabetes, my multitasking skills have soared!

Diabetes has made me the math genius I always wanted to be!

All those sleepless nights have taught me how to function as a mother, wife and employee with minimum cognitive effort!

Thanks Diabetes! I finally learned how to accent my daughter’s clothing with stylish pump accessories!

Sadly, none of these is true.

My One Great Thing is a work in progress. You see, I’m trying hard to shift my thinking about T1, to come to see it not as a hated foe, a fear-inspiring monster, an innocence-stealing bastard. I’m trying instead to accept it for what it is: a simple reality. If I view T1 as an enemy, then I spend too much energy clinging to a drifting life raft, fighting to stay afloat and never in control. If I accept it as reality, I become the captain of the boat, steering it where it needs to go.

If I achieve this acceptance, then hopefully Madeline can too. And that would truly be the One Great Thing.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “3rd annual diabetes blog week: May 15

  1. yes, totally. i try my best to model positive behavior for my kid (like when responding to a high number on her meter) because i know it will affect how she deals with it herself. it’s not always easy though.

    Posted by shannon | 05/15/2012, 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

