//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

3rd annual diabetes blog week: May 18

The theme of Friday’s post for the 3rd Annual Diabetes Blog Week is “What They Should Know” as a way to encourage writers to express at least one thing they think that others not struggling in some way with diabetes should know.

There are people in my life, in Madeline’s life, who—through their subtle reactions, passive-aggressive “questions,” and sideways comments—believe that I overreact when it comes to managing T1. I like to think that their belief stems from a lack of knowledge, rather than a lack of understanding.

It is true that I am a diligent observer, keeping an eye on Madeline wherever she goes. This is not me hovering. It is true that I make painstaking efforts to plan ahead, making sure we are as prepared as possible to manage T1 no matter the circumstance or setting. This is not me being difficult. It is true that, because of her age and her stage in learning how to manage her disease, I don’t let Madeline “just go” places without me or her father. This is not me being overbearing. It is true that I measure her food, monitor her activity, and manage her access to certain carbs. I don’t need to lighten up.

I do these things because T1 is a life-threatening disease. Misjudgments, miscalculations and indifference will result in Madeline becoming seriously ill—we’re talking ICU-sick here. The simple fact is that T1 can kill my daughter, and I’m doing whatever I can to prevent that from happening. Please stop judging me, and try to understand.

That’s what they should know.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “3rd annual diabetes blog week: May 18

  1. very well said indeed. i can relate to all of this. also, excellent use of italics.

    Posted by shannon | 05/18/2012, 1:51 pm
  2. this is painful because i would TOTALLY be one of the people thinking “katy killilea is so controlling about her son’s food” or “it’s so weird that she sits over by the trees instead of chatting like a normal mother here by the fence,” if i were not this very katy k. doing all of the helicopter-y looking things myself.

    i am just beginning to figure out what factors i’m over-worrying. but there’s NOTHING. i am not over-worrying. i am worrying an appropriate amount. i might even be under-worrying, based on the # of nights per week i sleep through the night.

    i needed this post!

    Posted by Katy | 05/19/2012, 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

