//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

groovy bag

As we’ve journeyed with T1D, it’s astonished me how picky I’ve become about the products we use. One particular category of product that gains my most critical eye is that of Stuff Holder. What falls in this category? Various backpacks, daypacks, luggage, cooling packs, lunch kits, purses… you know, things that hold the stuff we need every day to manage T1D in every imaginable situation and setting. And, because there is no more rigorous testing and evaluation process than that imposed by the child and family living with T1D, if someone in this boat vouches for a product, then I figure it must be worth at least some consideration from me.

So, I figured I’d return the favor.

Last summer, before Madeline started first grade, I spent hours scouring the internet and stores for the perfect bag to serve as her D-Kit. We had already tried a few, but none of them really met my requirements: durable, well-structured and easily portable, with plenty of ample storage pockets and compartments to keep everything organized and quickly retrievable. It occurred to me that a cosmetic bag of some kind would probably do the trick.

Do you know difficult it is to find The Perfect D-Kit? There must be a gazillion different kinds of cosmetic bags out there, and I wasn’t sure I’d find the one that truly fit our needs. Until… I found this: the Lilypond Hummingbird Cosmetic Bag.

We’ve used it for over a year now, and just purchased a new one for the upcoming school year. It serves as our daily D-Kit, and goes everywhere with Madeline. She takes it to school and to our sitter’s house, where it travels with her between classes and settings. We keep it on our counter at home, where it serves as our supply bag 24 hours a day. I take it with us everywhere we go: shopping, sports practices, the beach, friends’ houses, the library, you name it. It is perfect for us.

The bag has two exterior zip pockets, one on each side of the bag, which are roomy enough to hold the bulk of necessary-to-have-but-not-frequently-used supplies. For example, these exterior pockets are where I store the set of supplies needed for using Madeline’s insulin pen, and the set of supplies needed to do an infusion set change (actually, the pocket is plenty big enough to hold two sets). Inside, one wall of the bag has one zippered pocket that is made of mesh backed with plastic, so that the mesh does not rip or catch on items. In there, I keep “low supplies:” glucagon, cake gels, Smarties, and glucose tablets. On the opposite interior wall, three mesh pockets are sewn in, and have proved quite durable in holding a large container of ketone strips, a test strip container, the Multiclix lancing pen, Multiclix refill drums, and a pen. In the middle of the bag, there is ample room for the Ping meter remote, the Calorie King book (not pictured here because I don’t carry it anymore), a pack of wipes, a pack of facial tissues, and the daily log sheet (not shown). Also, I often carry one large juicebox and two 4-packs of peanut butter crackers in that section when we’re running errands.

Because this bag can hold everything, there’s no need for me to make up individual packs of supplies for different teachers or school settings. We have a larger box of refill supplies and low snacks that are kept in the nurse’s office, but Madeline simply takes this bag around school wherever she goes.

Drawbacks? There are a few, but nothing that has launched me on a search for a new bag. The exterior fabric is a nylon, “ripstop” fabric that can be difficult to clean. As a result, the bag we got last summer is looking a little grungy now, even though it functions just fine. There is a loop handle on the side of the bag, but I would prefer if it had loop handles at the top of the bag just for better portability. None of the pockets are insulated, so on hot days I have to store the insulin and strips differently. However, I have a small Frio pouch, which fits inside the middle compartment of this bag just fine. And, it can be difficult to find. I ordered our newest bag from Backcountry because it was on sale.

Ah, I’m in love.

Lilypond USA did not ask me to write this review, nor do I receive any kind of benefit from it for doing so. Actually, the folks there have no idea I’ve written this gushing love story about this product.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “groovy bag

  1. Wow! This is what we need! We have tried + dismissed: LL Bean toiletry kit, LL Bean dop kit, Patagonia’s atom bag, assorted REI lunch boxes. I like our current bag: the LL Bean fly fishing creel, but my husband thinks it’s a little too girly. The seersucker ribbons I tied on it don’t help. Thanks for the tip!

    Posted by Katy | 08/21/2012, 3:19 pm

Leave a Reply

