//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

WEGO Health Blog’s Advocating for Another Carnival: August 22, 2012

This week, I will be posting a series in response to specific topics, as part of the WEGO Health Blog’s Advocating for Another Carnival 2012. You can do this too; click here for more information!

August 22, 2012: These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

In this post, writers are charged with sharing five to ten favorite things about the person for whom they advocate.

Observable only on the road less traveled, these are a few of the things I adore about Madeline.

Her laugh is the same now as it was when it emerged in her infancy. I mean, the exact same. Joyous, unburdened, gushing at its edges.

She looks so much like my mother, who died in late 2009 from cancer. I still struggle with the deep grief of her loss, but I get to see glimmers of her when I watch Madeline.

She can articulate her thoughts and feelings with a depth rarely found. In anyone.

I love that she has a genuine appreciation for the natural world. I hope it lasts.

Madeline is deftly strategic in everything she does. She recognizes connections, figures out how things “work,” and plans responses. I love that she is an amazing thinker.

And because of #5, we share a nerd-love for shows like Mythbusters and How It’s Made, for places like Boston’s Museum of Science, and for things like the symbiotic workings of a garden.

She’s a dreamer. That’s alright with me.

Her intensity is sometimes difficult to handle, but it will serve her well in life once she learns how to channel it for the benefit of herself and others.

When she sleeps, she lays on her side or stomach, with one foot poking out from under the covers. Just like my mom did. Just like I do. Funny how idiosyncrasies like that emerge across generations.

I cannot imagine my life without this magnificent person in it.

Madeline lives with Type 1 Diabetes and Sensory Processing Disorder.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “WEGO Health Blog’s Advocating for Another Carnival: August 22, 2012

  1. Loved this post! Laughter is infectious! I see a lot of my brother in my nephew as well.

    Posted by Madison | 08/22/2012, 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

