//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Month: November 4

November 4: Disclosure Post. How do you decide what to share? What do/don’t you share?

Though it’s not my career, I am a writer by nature. Writing has always been the primary form of expression for me. It’s been my pathway to process my experiences, sift through my thoughts, and even clarify plans of action. Because writing is something I do for my own benefit, I don’t have much experience writing to an audience. I’m an introvert in life, and an introvert as a writer. So, writing for others has never really appealed to me.

And yet, here I am: writing in public. Why?

When Madeline was first diagnosed, I turned directly to paper. My blog has served the purpose of a public journal, really—my primary intention was never to write in a way that would help or educate others, but instead to write as a way to tether sanity. The topics of my posts tend to grow over days and even weeks, and center on the thoughts that keep me up at night, the issues that light my fire, and the feelings that I need to digest. It’s the stuff I can’t reconcile through any other way than through writing.

And yet, as I’ve put my internal struggles in print for others to see, I’ve unwittingly launched a slow transformation in the way I regard the purpose of my writing. Recently, I’ve been considering writing a few posts on topics that I think might be of interest and benefit to others. That’s right: choosing topics based on what others might need or want to read. Writing from a proactive, rather than only a reactive, perspective. I have not been brave enough to take this step… yet.

Stay tuned. I just might surprise myself.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

