//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Month: November 5

Today’s topic: write about 3 things for which you are thankful.

Today has not been a good day. November is generally a scourge in my life, and yet again has proven itself as such this year. Its one redeeming quality: the overt expectation of gratitude.

1. I’m thankful that the people that I love have access to quality health care and the resources to fund that care. I’m grateful that we live within a reasonable distance of some of the best medical facilities in the world.

2. I am thankful that my family has the means to obtain the things we need: food, clothing, shelter, a running vehicle, meaningful employment, and a few amenities that help us escape and relax. Our cup does not overflow, but it is amply filled and allows us comfort in our daily lives.

3. I’m thankful to have awoken another day, to enjoy the privileges of hearing the laughter (and even bickering) of my children, of feeling the hug of my husband, of scrunching my nose against the kisses of our dog, of seeing daylight, of feeling the (albeit bitter) breeze on my face, of the capacity for freedom of thought and action.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

