//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Month: November 8

November 8: Write a letter to your health

Dear Health,

I have known too many people who have lost their lives through their direct neglect of you.

In the lives of others I know and love, you are compromised, not because of an intentional neglect of you, but because you’ve been undermined by the negative impacts of modern living.

So, I admit to an obsession with you, Health. I’ve become committed to learning as much as I can about you, and doing so has transformed my worldview. I’ve changed my habits and the ways I caretake you in my life, as well as in the lives of the people I love. I stalk you, nurture you, and try to protect and preserve you.

I do these things because I need you, Health.  You see, my children need me in their most vunerable years. There’s so much loving, teaching, guiding and carrying that I still need to do for them. Even more, I cannot live without them. You must, must, stick around in spite of the challenges you face from stress, adolescence, growth, occasional neglect and short-sightedness, accidents, injuries and autoimmune disorders.

I have not abandoned you, Health. Please, do not abandon my family.

 

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “WEGO Health’s National Health Blog Month: November 8

  1. every day I have to re-convince myself: just because they need us extra much doesn’t mean we get a good health guarantee for ourselves. but we should!

    Posted by Katy | 11/09/2012, 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

