//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

growing summer

Fosummer 1r Madeline, this is a summer of firsts.

Sleepover

She had her very first sleep-over last weekend. Madeline and three other girls spent the night camping out in a tent by the lake at the home of dear friends of ours, in celebration of their daughter’s birthday. From a T1D perspective, it went well, even considering the impact of late evening s’mores, Flashlight Manhunt, and general adrenaline-fed excitement. I thought I was going to smother in my own worry about the amount of insulin she had on board as she bedded down for the night, so I returned to the campsite twice during the night to check her. She stayed in the high-ish range overnight, and I was thankful we did not have to treat any lows.

Diabetes Camp

Madeline goes to diabetes camp for the first time in a short 27 days from today. She is beyond excited about the experience, especially since having visited the camp for open house back in April. Not only will this be her first camp experience, it will also be her first time being away from home for any longer than a night. Yesterday, we took Madeline’s older sister Sophia to her very first sleepover camp experience, and I was a bit concerned that the drop-off process might provoke anxious feelings for both girls. As usual, though, I worried too much: Sophia practically kicked me out of the cabin door with a quick kiss and hug, as she needed to get busy having fun. For Madeline, witnessing all of the excitement of the day only bolstered her readiness for her own week at camp.

Independent Care

At our town’s day camp, Madeline will be in charge of her D-kit, checking BGs and treating lows on her own this year. I will still be visiting camp at lunchtime to help her count carbs and program her bolus, and I will still be staying at camp for the afternoon while Madeline swims, because her body is so unpredictably responsive to activity and she needs close monitoring as a result. But despite my presence, we are making good steps toward independent D-care. Day to day, I am also teaching Madeline about how to make more complicated decisions about her care. She’s been testing herself, making informed eating decisions, counting up carbs and programming boluses for many months now, but I have not yet begun to teach her the art form that is T1D management. Honestly, I haven’t even known where to start; it’s so complex, with endless factors to be considered at any given point in time. Necessity has offered up the opportunity to learn more about using temporary basal programs, so that’s where we are at right now. My goal? To make my thinking process more transparent to her so that she can absorb information, ask questions and make connections.

 

 

 

 

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “growing summer

  1. What a lot of manageable steps you have broken this into—I admire this so much. I especially like the day camp solo, with help from mom at lunch & swim time instead of NO CAMP FOR YOUR EVER UNLESS IT’S DCAMP method I have employed. You provide such a good model of taking the middle path.

    It is easy for me to feel “Never mind, this is too hard, let’s not bother trying.”

    Thanks for the good ideas.

    You guys are going to have an awesome summer!

    Posted by Katy | 07/01/2013, 11:27 am
    • I definitely fall into “never mind this is too hard just let me handle it” category. It’s an effort on my part to make my thinking accessible to her. It’s so confusing to me, this whole D-management thing, that subjecting her to the workings of my thought process might end up causing her too much confusion too. It’s a good start to expose her to the aspects of management that I have a good handle on, like programming temp basals, because I can explain that reasonably well to her. But unfortunately, the list of things I have a good handle on is quite short. I want her to be an EXPERT by the time she hits college, and I suspect it will take that many years to achieve that goal!

      Posted by Heather Garcia Queen | 07/01/2013, 11:38 am

Leave a Reply

