//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

fact check

In the time since Madeline was diagnosed with T1D, I’ve been given countless nuggets of advice and opinions about the endless array of issues related to living with this disease. Turns out, these opinions and bits of wisdom are commonly held, as I’ve seen them repeatedly shared across the T1D landscape: on social media, in books, on blogs, in doctors’ offices, in support groups… everywhere.   Because I believe in good intentions, I believe that most of these opinions are shared to support kids’ and families’ transition into a life dominated by this disease.

An opinion is an individual truth. It is not, however, a fact. Yet, I have sadly discovered that many of these opinions are often purported as facts. The most frequently expressed opinion-disguised-as-fact, in my experience, is this:

You can let your child eat whatever she wants, just cover it with insulin. 

This is an individual truth. It is an opinion. It is not a fact.

And I have learned over time that it is not the truth for Madeline or our family at all.

 

 

 

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “fact check

  1. “Can” is such a difficult word. Can I eat whatever I want? Yes, I am not allergic to anything so I “can” eat whatever I want and not immediately end up in the hospital. That being said, there are some things that it is just nearly impossible to cover correctly with insulin. In the 10 years since I was diagnosed, I have chosen not to have a smoothie (how in the world do you cover all that juice and the fruit carbs accurately) or a bagel (yikes!) or a few other complicated things. I suppose I COULD eat those things and deal with the hours of high BGs and an A1c I am not comfortable with, but to me it is just not worth it.

    Posted by Sara | 01/04/2014, 4:34 pm
    • Hi Sara, I agree that there is a difference between “can” and “should”… For me, “can” implies that there is a real choice that is available. Because I don’t have a specific allergy to peanuts, for example, I can choose to eat peanut butter. I most often decide that I should not eat peanut butter, for reasons other than acute, life threatening allergic reaction. But my friend, who has a life threatening allergy to peanuts, really can’t eat peanut butter. I mean, she can, if she’d like to end up dead. That’s a dramatic example, I know, but when there is a real and acute issue with quality of life, perhaps to the extent that said issue is life threatening, there not much of a choice available there.

      Posted by Heather Garcia Queen | 01/04/2014, 9:53 pm

Leave a Reply

