//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

let it go

You see this thing here?

DH bag

The final relic.

 

It’s a bag.

To be more specific, it’s a light blocking bag for storing test strips.It came from the pharmacy of Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, on March 8, 2011.  Two days after Madeline was diagnosed with T1D.

And to get to the point: it’s the last thing. The last physical relic I have from that time, when we were in the hospital, our heads spinning, our fears suffocating, our lives changing.

A few days ago, when I was preparing Madeline’s pump for a set change, it dawned on me that I did not need this bag anymore. We run through test strips like water; ain’t no box sticking around here long enough to get light exposed and ruined.

Why, then, was I keeping it?

I realized that the force binding me to that bag is that it is the last tangible object I have from that time.

I don’t need it anymore. It doesn’t carry a practical use for me. It doesn’t hold an emotional use, either.

Goodbye, Bag.

 

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “let it go

  1. We never even had such a bag! Light could go through the strips box AND through the black plastic strips canisters? Geeze.

    Before reading, I thought the picture was of a bag of organ meats and the text was going to be shocking paleo recipes that I was going to feel like I had to attempt. Sigh of relief.

    Congratulations on losing the bag!

    Posted by Katy | 04/21/2014, 8:31 pm

Leave a Reply

