//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

what gets you down?

dblogweek

I’m participating in the 5th Annual Diabetes Blog Week. Every day, D-bloggers from all over the web weigh in on topics related to living with diabetes.

Topic for May 14: What gets you down? What things can make dealing with diabetes an emotional issue for you and / or your loved one, and how do you cope?

People ask me if, after living with my daughter’s type 1 diabetes for three years, it gets any easier.

No.

After three years, I am better equipped to handle the idiosyncracies and challenges of T1D. I’m better able to adapt to the ups and downs–to ride that proverbial roller coaster without screaming to get off now. I have learned strategies for handling every situation we’ve experienced so far: severe lows, vomit-inducing highs, infusion set failures, glucose hangovers from pizza, and everything in between. I no longer feel like I’m drowning in fear.

Still, the answer to this question is No. Living with diabetes, parenting a child with diabetes is not easier now. I’m just more skilled at living this life.

Even though I’m more skilled at living this life with diabetes, the thing that persistently bothers me is the emotional drain Madeline experiences on a regular basis. She, too, is more resilient, more skilled, more effective at dealing with T1D. Her perspective about diabetes in her life is slowly shifting toward the positive, as she becomes better at spotting silver linings. And yet…when she tells me that she hates her body because she thinks it has betrayed her, when she cries during a painful infusion set insertion, when she describes the loneliness and isolation she often feels…I’m filled with sadness.

I let the sadness sit for a while, and then I move on.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “what gets you down?

  1. This brings me down too. And allow me to drag us down further: I think we might be in the “easy” part NOW. Because everyone’s saying, “Wait til you try PUBERTY.” Hang on tight!

    Posted by Katy | 05/14/2014, 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

