//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

6th Annual Diabetes Blog Week: May 11

I can.

When this all started, when Madeline was diagnosed with T1D, I was completely overwhelmed with the fact that I could not take it away from her, that I could not fix it. I was terrified that I could not learn what needed to be learned in order to make diabetes a passenger–not the driver–in her life. But as the days turned into weeks, turned into months and now years, I have recognized that I can.

I can teach her to understand that, while her pancreas might be broken, she is decidedly not.

I can encourage her to life her life, take risks and pursue her dreams–even with diabetes on board.

I can show her that she is, and can continue to be, healthy and strong–not sick or diseased.

I can promise her that I will have her back as she learns how to manage diabetes with increasing independence.

I can involve her in all decisions about her care–from choosing a bolusing strategy to selecting her new insulin pump to enrolling in diabetes summer camp.

I can remind her that despite diabetes’ presence and influence in every part of her life, that it is only one part of who she is, and that it does not define her.

************************************

It’s the 6th Annual Diabetes Blog Week! For more information, to participate, and other fantastic posts this week, click here.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

One thought on “6th Annual Diabetes Blog Week: May 11

  1. “Healthy and strong” is one of my favorite phrases in this post. What a great thing to have kids who are healthy and strong, or to feel healthy and strong.

    I am so glad you’re in Blog Week & CAN’T WAIT for your Friday!!!

    Posted by Katy | 05/11/2015, 9:49 pm

Leave a Reply

