//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

6th Annual Diabetes Blog Week: May 16

Favorites and motivations.

I’ve been writing this blog, off and on, for more than four years. I’m a writer by nature, but I’ve always used writing more as a method of working out my thoughts and emotions, rather than as a strategy for connecting with others or telling a story. Before Madeline was diagnosed, I knew about blogging but thought that it was an embarrassingly egocentric activity. Why would anyone possibly want to read my writing about my own life? 

When Madeline was diagnosed, I was driven to write. And for reasons I still can’t explain, I somehow understood that I should share the writing in a blog format. I’m introverted and try to avoid attention on me, yet writing a blog implies the complete opposite. When I share my writing here, I have an increasing hope that my words benefit others as much as me. There is a story to be told…but I struggle with its value in a public domain. 

I don’t have a favorite blog post. This space will likely continue to remain a quiet place, though it may evolve into a space through which Madeline may write about her experiences with diabetes, over time. 

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

