//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

7th Annual Diabetes Blog Week: May 16

Lets kick off the week by talking about why we are here, in the diabetes blog space. What is the most important diabetes awareness message to you? Why is that message important for you, and what are you trying to accomplish by sharing it on your blog? (Thank you, Heather Gabel, for this topic suggestion.)

To me, writing a blog seemed to be the poster-child activity of those who basked in the Look at Me lifestyle. Self serving. Boastful, even. I’m so important, you are going to want to read about every detail of my life. Even though I have always loved to write, my writing has has always been a private, therapeutic endeavor. Blogging stood in stark contrast to that intention.

And then, my youngest child was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. I took to writing once again, to keep myself from drowning in fear. I needed connection with others experiencing a similar nightmare. Somehow, it occurred to me the starting a blog might be a helpful, even relevant, thing to do. Over the years Insulin Resilience became a platform for me to puzzle over the dilemmas, heartbreaks and hurdles I faced as a parent of a child with T1D. It’s also allowed me, as a highly introverted person, a safe format from which to advocate on diabetes-related issues. As anyone living with a chronic health condition can tell you, patient and witness voice is everything.

As my daughter has grown older, I’ve sought her counsel and involved her in my decisions about what and how to write for the blog. About a year ago, she asked me to stop writing about her. She didn’t, and still doesn’t, want her diabetes business published for all to read. I listened. I wrestled and pondered. Ultimately, I decided that honoring her request was the only thing to do. So it’s pretty much been crickets on Insulin Resilience since then.

I don’t know what will become of this blog. I know what I need to write: the challenges and complications of T1D are only getting uglier as time marches on. But writing about these Uglies while respecting my daughter’s privacy has proven to a problem I have yet to solve.

About Heather Garcia Queen

I am… a mother of 3 spectacular children. A wife of an architect extraordinaire. An MSW. A psychologist in an elementary school. A (wishful) writer. A protector of family and spirit. A worshipper of the natural world. A seeker of knowledge. A lover of the arts. An introvert. A silver-lining kind of girl.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “7th Annual Diabetes Blog Week: May 16

  1. Aww, I’m glad you have such a good relationship with your daughter that she can come and be open with you about her wants and wishes. I definitely remember the earlier days when I didn’t want anyone to know about my diabetes or talk about it.

    Posted by Kelley | 05/17/2016, 6:20 pm
  2. It’s very hard to not write when you’re that write-y kind of person. I hope you continue to find a way to blog that fits in with your daughter’s desire for privacy.

    Posted by Katy | 05/17/2016, 8:51 pm
  3. I admire the fact that you involve your daughter in what you write about, I’m sure it’s difficult to figure out how to write for you with respect to her request.

    Posted by Probably Rachel | 05/20/2016, 12:39 pm

Leave a Reply

